Summer Sparkles 

Yes, I was browsing Pinterest again on a break and got another inspiration. This is a potential craft project for our annual camping trip with college friends and their kids.

Gathering the supplies to test it out was simple.

  • Hemp cord – I had enough left from a previous project
  • Buttons – from my button can
  • Crochet hook – inherited from my grandmother
  • White glue – on hand
  • Beads – a phone call to my sister-in-law resulted in a bag hanging on my doorknob a day or two later

 Instructions came from this website. As usual, I used them as a guideline rather than rules. I crochet very tightly so I used a larger hook rather than struggling to fit the hook through the loops.

I love having the soft-ish cord around my wrist with rainbow sparkles to brighten my day. There are no worries about getting it wet though it does feel annoyingly soggy for a while.

I made a second bracelet and the larger hook made things easier for me. I got the beads strung while waiting for a child at the dentist office. It took around 45 minutes to crochet while watching TV.

 My daughter made her own while relaxing in her room. It turned out nice with grayish cord and dark blue beads. She noted that it can be worn as a necklace as well as a bracelet.

As I wear it, the cheap beads are losing some of their color and the cord continues to get softer, beginning to fray. Summer jewelry is as temporary as the season, and that’s how it should be.

Leave a Reply

