Movie Review – I Know That Voice

I am of a generation that grew up watching Saturday morning cartoons. In September I would look forward to the prime time special showing the lineup for the next season. On Saturday mornings when Bugs Bunny cartoons started, I knew the fun was coming to an end.

I loved the Flintstones and the Jetsons, and I tolerated the Smurfs just because I loved my younger brother. I had a Hong Kong Fooey lunch box and enjoyed when there were guest stars on Scooby Doo. The Simpsons started when I was in college, and Babs and Buster bunny made a surprise appearance on my wedding cake. We watched Avatar: The Last Airbender animated series as a family, and we currently watch the animated Star Wars Rebels series. Disney’s Gravity Falls is a very curious animated series.

I Know That Voice movie poster

When this movie showed up on Netflix, I immediately added it to my list. I Know That Voice contains an amazing amount of talent.

The documentary starts with a short history of animated features and transitions into how these actors discovered they could do voices. The movie makes it clear how these are actors, not merely people who make silly voices. There is a lot more involved. Can you do that silly voice for four hours? Can you do that voice as if being punched in the stomach? Can you do that voice reading Shakespeare?

I loved seeing these actors doing the voices I know so well – Spongebob Squarepants, Bender the robot, Goofy, Rocky the flying squirrel, Winnie the Pooh, Porky Pig, Judy Jetson – and describing how they developed the voice.

The movie is so much fun to watch. They might work hard, but you can tell they love what they do and have as much fun as possible while doing it.

I need to be honest – I put the documentary on again while I wrote. It had been a few weeks since I watched it, so I wanted to refresh my memory. An hour later, I realized I hadn’t written more than three sentences. My daughter had wandered into the room, sat down, and didn’t want to go to bed when there was still another 30 minutes to go. It’s that good.

Go watch for yourself and let me know what you think. For me, I think I’m going to watch this one next –

Featured image credits – By flickr user Tanki (http://flickr.com/photos/michaelrhys/40428909/) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

